SCARS Weekly Newsletter – 1/25/2016

Technician and General Licensing Class . . .
Oklahoma ARES Voice Over IP Net . . .
Field Day the Simple Way . . .
Winter Field Day – THIS COMING WEEKEND . . .
Green Country Hamfest . . .
DX Code of Conduct . . .
Amazon Smile Setup . . .
New DMR Repeater in Norman . . .
HF Nets . . .
Listen to 146.88 and 147.06 Online . . .
Did I forget you last week? . . .
ARRL Letter . . .
Amateur Radio Newsline . . .
Ham Nation . . .
Officers, and odd-links . . .
Upcoming Hamfests within 250 miles  _…_._


Technician and General Licensing Class

 

Mark, N5HZR, sends the following:

SCARS, along with KA5KXW, will be offering a Technician and General amateur radio license class. This class will start on February 9th, 2016, at 6:30 pm, and will be held at Norman Firehouse #7. More detailed location information, and a map is available on the W5NOR.org web site.

Come join us to learn, or simply encourage these potential/new hams. For more information, feel free to contact N5HZR if you have any additional questions. See you February 9th!

[Editor’s Note: If you do not have Mark’s contact info, email me at wb5ulk@arrl.net, and I’ll pas that along]


Oklahoma ARES Voice Over IP Net


SCARS member W5LHG, Larry, is the Net Control Op for this new ARES net. For those of you who are savvy about this stuff, you’ll need little other than this info. If you DO have questions about this, ask me. I’ll let you know how this all works!

via W5LHG:

The Oklahoma ARES Voice Over IP net meets Mondays @ 9:15 pm. Local frequencies for this net are IRLP W5DEL 146.700 – 103.5, Del City, Echolink W5LHG 444.625+ 127.3 Blanchard, D-Star KF5ZLE 442.975+ Blanchard. Echolink apps are available for Apple, Android, and Windows operating systems.  Hubs for the net are Echolink  *WX-TALK*, IRLP Node 9219, D-Star Ref052 B. There is also a net for DMR Mondays at 8:15pm on the Oklahoma State Talkgroup.

The W5LHG 444.625+ 127.3  Repeater has been upgraded to a new Yaesu DR 1x, 50 watt repeater. Echolink node 212302, all user Echolink DTMF commands are default.


Field Day the Simple Way

It’s a little over 5 months to Field Day. And here is a GREAT article about how One Amateur on his own did HIS Field Day. Read it all!!!

Field Day the Simple Way
[
source: ARRL]

Charlie Pitchford, N4QET


A simple setup is enough for an enjoyable Field Day.


Normally in late June I celebrate my anniversary and travel for family vacations, but 2012 was different. As a recent retiree, every day is a vacation day and in 2012 my spouse was out of the country on family business. That being the case, I thought that I should see what Field Day was really all about.

I have been a ham for 25 years and prior to last year I had participated in Field Day only once — several years ago when my local ARES group gathered at a local park for the day. Therefore I had a very limited file of previous Field Day plans to draw from.

My first task was to check out the ARRL® website to learn what the different classification numbers and letters meant. I was very impressed with the extensive array of Field Day information that was available, and the website presented it in clear and simple terms. As I got more comfortable with the rules, I could feel my excitement build and I began to formulate my plans.

With a basic 100 W HF radio, portable antenna and emergency generator on hand I decided to operate as Class 1B (one transmitter, portable). To keep it simple I set up at my own house and operated only SSB. Yes, I am considered portable, whether I have hauled my station and accessories 100 miles or 100 feet.

I brought the generator out of storage and located it 100 feet away from my operating spot. The distance of 100 feet was significant — it is the length of my extension cord. The antenna was a new Buddipole. I had purchased it with the intention of using it for an RV station during camping trips. So I placed my rig, microphone and foot switch on my deck and mounted the Buddipole in the dipole configuration nearby. That was my entire Field Day station.

All Hams on Deck

My first log entry was made at 1815 UTC. I was quite pleased that I had completed setting up and was operating within 15 minutes of the start of Field Day. I was off and running on 40 meters.

Not surprisingly the band was saturated with signals. There was not a quiet spot on the entire SSB segment. The tuning dial became an extension of my fingers as I worked it back and forth across the band.

Three hours later I took my first break. Operating portable from one’s own deck has its advantages. Food and water were right at hand and an air conditioned escape from the ever present Georgia heat and humidity were just a few feet away in my living room.

Round Two

After being energized by the coolness of conditioned air and nourished from a quickly prepared meal of macaroni and cheese, I was back on the air. The 40 meter band was still packed from end to end with the sound of “CQ Field Day.” I kept my antenna configuration the same. My fingers were repositioned back on the dial as I grabbed my log and pencil and listened for a new call sign. I worked the 40 meter band for a few more hours before I called it a night.

Easy Up, Easy Down

The next day brought more of the same. With occasional breaks, I kept a steady but casual and relaxing pace going until my 24 hour operating period was over. Packing up was as easy as setting up; 15 minutes and my teardown was complete.

I counted up my log sheets and found that I had made 74 contacts. While the “point hounds” may not be impressed because I didn’t establish a heart pounding contact per minute rate, copy an ARRL bulletin, invite a dignitary or send a message to my section manager, I did accomplish my goal. I planned and successfully executed a portable Field Day station, made numerous contacts and had a blast with this wonderful hobby called Amateur Radio. I’ve already checked next year’s calendar and confirmed that there won’t be a conflict with our anniversary. Now I just have to wait through a whole year’s anticipation!


Charlie Pitchford, N4QET, was first licensed as a Novice in 1986. As an Amateur Extra class license holder, he enjoys ragchewing and chasing DX on the HF bands. Charlie is retired following a 29 year career with the YMCA of Albany, Georgia and in The State YMCA of Georgia. He serves as assistant emergency coordinator for Bartow County ARES and also volunteers with the American Red Cross Disaster Services. Charlie can be reached at 281 Holly Springs Rd NE, White, GA 30184, cpitchford3@yahoo.com


Winter Field Day – THIS COMING WEEKEND!

Now if you are particularly exercised about Field Day, then how about doing your own thing (or getting some like-minded folks together) and do a WINTER FIELD DAY?!?

Winter Field Day

17 UTC to 17 UTC, January 30-31, 2016


Green Country Hamfest

At the January meeting we were reminded that Green Country is less than 3 months from now. Mark Conklin, N7XYO,  ARRL Oklahoma Section Emergency Coordinator, reminded some of us on Facebook about this last week as well. Check here for more details: Green Country Hamfest



DX Code of Conduct

As noted above, Victor and Denny did a program about a DX Code of Conduct. While a lot of the back and forth of the presentation will be lost in this list below, this is something that would be good for you to copy and post next to your Worldwide Call Map at your operating position.

DX Code Of Conduct

I will listen, and listen, and then listen again before calling.

I will only call if I can copy the DX station properly.

I will not trust the DX cluster and will be sure of the DX station’s call sign before calling.

I will not interfere with the DX station nor anyone calling and will never tune up on the DX frequency or in the QSX slot.

I will wait for the DX station to end a contact before I call.

I will always send my full call sign.

I will call and then listen for a reasonable interval. I will not call continuously.

I will not transmit when the DX operator calls another call sign, not mine.

I will not transmit when the DX operator queries a call sign not like mine.

I will not transmit when the DX station requests geographic areas other than mine.

When the DX operator calls me, I will not repeat my call sign unless I think he has copied it incorrectly.

I will be thankful if and when I do make a contact.

I will respect my fellow hams and conduct myself so as to earn their respect. 

[My personal short-hand version of this list is “Don’t Be A Jerk”.]


 Amazon Smile setup

When you use Smile, and have selected “South Canadian Amateur Radio Society” as your 501(c)(3) of choice, then the Club will receive what amounts to 0.5% of each purchase you make. If you don’t select Smile, your price will not be lower, so why not use Smile and benefit your Club? 

Amazon has a very straightforward how-to here:

http://smile.amazon.com/gp/chpf/about/

You can thank yourself for doing this, but I’ll thank you too!


New DMR Repeater in Norman

N5HZR posted this information on the SCARS Facebook group recently about a new DMR repeater now on the air in Norman:

Norman DMR Repeater is on the air! Tonight, N5MS, N5UWY, & N5HZR flipped the switch on the Motorola SLR5700. This machine is listening on 443.825 MHz, with a +5 MHz offset.
This machine has a local talkgroup that traffic stays here in town, a Central OK talkgroup that shares audio with Stillwater and the 3 OKC repeaters, and statewide, OK-TX, North America and Worldwide talkgroups that let you bring in the world.
If you’ve got a DMR radio, take a listen, and start talking. We’d really appreciate any signal reports from this machine, and when your radio switches from Norman, to one of the other OKC machines.
If you don’t know what DMR has to offer, check out http://dmr-marc.net/ or ask questions here on Facebook. Entry level radios are available for about $130 from Connect Systems, and Tytera.
(Ed: Connect Systems instead of Control Systems…)


 HF Nets

When you get your HF antenna up, here is a consistently updated and comprehensive listing of HF Nets:  http://www.n1yz.com/HFNET_LIST.HTM


 Listen to 146.88 and 147.06 Online

Remember that N5HZR has an SDR receiver running on a Raspberry Pi that monitors 88 and 06. You can listen to it here:
Norman VHF Repeaters audio stream


 Did I Forget You Last Week?

There’s an easy way to make sure that you receive each and every blog post. Yes, even on those days when I forget to send an email out to the Club list! But remember that I ONLY send out an email notification for the Weekly Newsletters. The other non-Weekly posts are very rarely notified about via email.

From anywhere on the Blog, scroll down until you see “Follow Blog via Email” in the right side-bar. Sign-up there, and you will always receive an email notice each and every time I post something here. Big Solar Flare? Bingo – you’re on it.


 ARRL Letter

 

Read it all here: ARRL Letter


 Amateur Radio Newsline, January 22, 2016

  • FLORIDA HAMS AND NON-HAMS GET TEAMWORK DOWN COLD
  • TAPPING INTO STRAIGHT KEY ACTION
  • THE UK’S NEWEST RECORD-SETTERS
  • A FIRST FOR A CW CONTEST
  • BANQUET TICKETS GOING FAST
  • PRELUDE TO AN AUSTRALIAN PREFIX
  • LUXEMBOURG HAMS HONOR ROYALTY
  • MAKING IT IN MUNICH
  • 10 DAYS OF CONTESTING IN IRAN
  • WORLD OF DX
  • NEW HAM CONTACT

Live links, Script, and Audio here: AR Newsline #1995


Ham Nation

The January, 6 2016 Edition of Ham Nation:

HAM NATION 230

“SMITH CHARTS, AUDIO, AND HEARD ISLAND, OH MY!”

Neil Rapp on youth in ham radio, Smith Charts: Part 2 – all about impedance, a quick look at Quartzfest, ARES tax deductions, and more!

 

Screenshot 2016-01-24 at 19.34.18

Go watch!

Ham Nation Episode 231

(Note that if you watch Ham Nation live, there’ll be no show this week…)


 Odds and Ends

ARRL Outgoing QSL Service

Announced DX Operations

D-Star stuff

News, Links, Repeater Info, Hamfests, Licensing, General Help

For those who have not yet found the officers on the webpage, here is the list:

President: Harold Black, W5IFN
President-Elect-VP: Rodney Barrett, KF5UZA
Treasurer: Doug Forsyth, WX5DF
Secretary: Chris Pape, KE5JZN
Past President: Phil Sinnett, KD5UGO
Director at Large: Victor McDaniel, W5GXT (appointment)
Trustee: Peter Laws, N5UWY (appointment)
Assistant Trustee: Gary Skaggs, WB5ULK  (appointment)

Also, some of you have asked about the site I use personally to track real-time lightning data. That site can be found here:
http://www.lightningmaps.org/realtime


Upcoming Hamfests within 250 miles

Link below lists all the ARRL-related hamfests within a 250 mile drive of Norman for about the next 5 months. Lots of good ones close to Norman.

http://www.arrl.org/hamfests/search/page:1/Location.zip:73072/Location.area:250.rpt?format=html


As always…Nets, Links, Other Stuff in the link at the top AND in the sidebar. Have a great week!

73 de Gary, WB5ULK …_._

Leave a Reply

